Skip to Main Content

Notice Board :

Tuesday 23rd April Senior & Junior Training at 8.15pm. New Players always very welcome.


Tuesday 30th April Foundation Coaching Course in Ballylinan GAA Sports Hall starting at 7pm, See News for more info. 

Join our Newsletter

Club Draw :

Lotto 18th April 2013
Jackpot €6,200

No Winner

Next Weeks
Click Here 

Monster Clubs 'Members' Draw
Click Here  

Gaelic Telecom

Ladies Championship

Laois Ladies SFC Preview

Hot on the heels of the NFL Division 2 semi-final on Sunday last, the Laois club scene takes off in earnest right away with three senior championship first round games down for decision this week.

These games were originally scheduled for Sunday, but when Laois, slightly against general expectations, knocked Dublin out of the running and qualified for a semi-final tilt at Galway, the best laid plans were reviewed. County players have little chance for rest and recuperation after their league exertions and must get down to business immediately on behalf of their clubs.

With seven senior clubs, the highest in Leinster after Meath, Laois have a very competitive and healthy championship set up and the winners have also a very realistic chance of going the whole way in Leinster. The last two winners of the Lulu Carroll Cup, Sarsfields and Timahoe, both went on to take the Bill Daly Cup as provincial champions.

The top contenders will again be Timahoe, Sarsfields and Shanahoe, but Park-Ratheniska, Ballylinan, Portlaoise and Crettyard will not be there just to make up the numbers. All clubs have a good sprinkling of intercounty talent and the progress of Crettyard, just back into senior ranks, will be watched with interest as they attempt to find their feet in territory they once dominated. The first round games keeps the main players apart and based on last year's form book, and with due respect to health warnings, they should be expected to pick up the points. But, as in all sports, championships often turn up the unexpected.


Never won Senior. Intermediate Champions 2008. Prominent players: Aisling Doyle, Deirdre O'Shea, Anna Moore, Mulhares and Millers. Reached semi-final in 2009 where they lost to Sarsfields

Last title: 2004. Winners on ten occasions. Intermediate champions 2009. Main players: Kathleen O'Reilly, Sarah McEvoy, Sinead Doogue, Alison O'Reilly, Mags Phelan

Never won senior. Reached semi-final in 2008. Main Players: Patricia Fogarty, Charlotte Delaney, Helena Moore, Amy O'Callaghan, Lynn O'Callaghan, Laura Hyland

No Senior title. Young side, won numerous underage championships in 2000s. Main players: Caoimhe Dollard, Aishling Kehoe, Alison Taylor, Clodagh Brennan, Kate Dunne

Last title: 2008. Leinster Club Champions 2008. Lost final to Timahoe in 2009. Main players: Lorraine Muckian, Olwyn Farrell, Emma Mc Evoy, Mags McEvoy, Amy Grehan, Grace Weston, Aileen O'Loughlin, Tracey Lawlor, Ciara O'Loughlin, Jenny McEvoy

Last Senior title: 2006. Semi-finalists 2009, lost to Timahoe. Main players: Mary Kirwan, Noreen Kirwan, Martha Kirwan, Lisa Dunne, Valerie Lalor, Marian O'Grady, Eimear Fitzpatrick

Last Title: 2009. Leinster Club Champions 2009. Laois champions on ten occasions. Vastly experienced lineup.




2009 Laois Ladies Senior Football Championship - Click Here 



Fixtures :

Saturday 20th April 2013
ACFL Div.2
Ballylinan v Graiguecullen
in Ballylinan at 7pm

Sunday 21st April 2013
ACFL Div.4
Ballylinan v Colt
in Ballylinan at 6pm 

Sunday 21st April 2013
U/14 Féile Peil S/Final
Ballylinan G v Ballyroan Abbey
at 11am 

Club Poll :

Do you agree with the introduction of the Black Card?

County Level Only

View Results